Discussion: View Thread

The Journal of Management Studies (JMS) is hiring new associate editors

  • 1.  The Journal of Management Studies (JMS) is hiring new associate editors

    Posted 6 days ago

    New Associate Editors for the Journal of Management Studies

    The Journal of Management Studies is seeking Associate Editors to join the editorial team of Caroline Gatrell, Corinne Post, Christopher Wickert, Paolo Aversa, Mirko Benischke, Brian Boyd, Beatrice D'Ippolito, Serge da Motta Veiga, Johann Fortwengel, Hannes Leroy, Kristina Potočnik, Shameen Prashantham, Garima Sharma, and Yuliya Snihur. The term of office is three years in the first instance with an option for a further three. The posts carry a generous honorarium and necessary travel expenses will be covered.

    The Journal of Management Studies was established in 1963 as one of the first general management journals. It publishes innovative, novel, and high-quality papers that advance theoretical and empirical knowledge in the area of management. It is one of the leading management journals in the world; it has been part of the FT50 journal list since 2011, has a 2022 Impact Factor of 10.5 and an ISI Ranking of 15/157 (Business) and 16/227 (Management).

    Essential qualities sought from candidates include the following:

    • Significant scholarly contributions in any area of management studies. It is expected that applicants will identify a primary area of expertise, however given JMS' "big tent" ethos to offer a scholarly home for any area of management studies broadly understood we expect candidates to be flexible: able and willing to handle manuscripts across topics and domains that could extend beyond their primary area.
    • Extensive and recognized experience as a reviewer for management journals and, preferably, editorial experience.
    • Demonstrated administrative skills, capacity to handle a demanding workload and to meet deadlines.
    • Ability to work constructively with authors, reviewers, and the editorial team.
    • Willingness to contribute to the success of the journal through attendance at editorial meetings and representing the journal at events and institutions.
    • Methodological expertise in quantitative and/or qualitative methods.

    Strong candidates with expertise in any area of management studies will be considered. We are particularly keen to consider candidates with expertise in and a quantitative approach to the study of corporate governance, corporate social responsibility, diversity, equity & inclusion, human resource management, international business, organizational behaviour, strategy, technology & digitalization (listed alphabetically). We are also keen to consider candidates with expertise in and a qualitative approach to the study of work-life and of the professions.

     

    The General Editors and the Managing Editor offer two online information sessions for interested applicants to explain the Associate Editor role at JMS, opportunities that come along with the job, and will answer any questions candidates may have. The sessions will take place via Zoom and last 45 minutes. Participation in these events is not a prerequisite for application.

    Session 1: Thursday, 23rd May at 13.30 (CET)/07.30 (EST)/04.30(PDT)/19.30 (CST)

    Sign up for this session.

    Session 2: Tuesday, 4th June at 16.00 (CET)/10.00 (EST)/07.00 (PDT)/22.00 (CST)

    Sign up for this session.

    For an informal discussion of the nature of the editorial tasks and the support that the Society for the Advancement of Management Studies (SAMS) gives to editors in recognition of the time they devote to the Journal, please contact Margaret Turner (m.c.turner@durham.ac.uk), Journal of Management Studies, c/o Durham University Business School, Mill Hill Lane, Durham, DH1 3LB.

    You may also contact General Editors Corinne Post (corinne.post@villanova.edu) or Christopher Wickert (christopher.wickert@vu.nl).

    Application deadline: Monday, 1st July 2024 (16.00 BST)

    Candidates will hear whether they have been selected for interview by Monday, 15th July 2024.

    Interviews will be held over a period of two weeks, commencing Monday, 5th August 2024. The panel will consist of SAMS Council Members, JMS General Editors and the Managing Editor.

    JMS Website: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/14676486  

    SAMS Website: www.socadms.org.uk

    If you wish to apply for this post, please email a cover letter to Margaret Turner (business.sams@durham.ac.uk), this letter should state why you would like to apply, and the skills and qualities you can bring to the post along with a short CV that focuses on your publishing, reviewing and editorial experience.



    ------------------------------
    Christopher Wickert
    JMS General Editor
    Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
    Amsterdam
    ------------------------------