Best Business Ethics Paper Award

The SIM Best Business Ethics Paper Award was created in June 2017 by Ed Freeman and Michelle Greenwood, Editors-in-Chief of the Journal of Business Ethics. The SIM Division membership is fully appreciative of the Journal’s generous sponsorship of this new award, which acknowledges the prominence of business ethics research in the Social Issues in Management domain.

SIM would like to thank The Journal of Business Ethics for the generous support of this award

2023 Winner:

  • Jordi Vives Gabriel, Wim van Lent, Imram Chowdhury, Hugo van der Merwe, “From harm to harmony? Epistemic dominance and moral repair in the wake of the Marikana Massacre"

2023 Finalists:

  • Jinsil Kim, “Political influence and lobbying in transition economies. The role of reference points"

  • Jeffrey Harrison, Violet Ho & Robert Phillips, "Forgiving stakeholders"

  • Mahdi Forghani Bajestani, Shaomin Li & Run Tian, "Digitalization of Economies and Corruption"

  • Limin Fu & Dirk Boehe, "Past as the present, present as the future: The time dynamics of CSR"

2022 Winner:

  • Leonie Decrinis, “Means versus ends in business ethics: A behavioral trade-off between compliance and achievement of corporate ethics programmes”

2022 Finalists:

  • Darryl Rice, Regina Taylor Sijing Wei, Yiding Wang, and Valentina Ge, “My company cares about my success….I think: Clarifying why and when a firm’s ethical reputation impacts employees’ career success"

2021 Winner:

  • Aishwarya Shahrawat and Kanika Bhal, “Ethical blindfolding at work”

2021 Runner-up:

  • Mattheus Dall Agnol; Luiz Kabbach De Castro and Dulce Redin“In the multitude of words, sin is not lacking: An analysis of codes of ethics across Fortune 500”

2021 Finalists:

  • Chase Thiel, Nicholas Prince, Zhanna Sahatjian, “The (Electronic) Walls Between Us: How Electronic Monitoring Undermines Ethical Leadership”
  • George Banks, Roxanne Ross, Allison Toth, Scott Tonidandel, Wenwen Dou, Atefeh Mahdavi Goloujeh, “A Signaling Theory Approach to Ethical Leadership Behaviors”

2020 Winner:

  • Tricia Olsen and Harry Van Buren III, “Institutional Strengthening as Ethical Obligation: An Agonistic Approach to Business Ethics”

2020 Finalists:

  • Christain Voegtlin and Sandrine Fremeaux, “A Common Good Perspective on Deliberative Democracy in Busines: Learning from Aristotle’s Ethics
  • Samir Shrivastava, Robert Jones and Nikola Djurkovic, “Lean as Mean: When Values Converge to Produce Depersonalized Bullying”
  • Hanna Lehtimaki and Sengupta Subhanjan, “Care Ethics in Social Entrepreneurship: Contextual Understanding”

2019 Winner:

  • Laura Albareda (Lappeenranta University of Technology) & Alejo Jose Sison (University of Navarra), Common Paradigm: Embedding Common Good and Collective Action, Insights from Ethical and Economic Foundations

2019 Finalists:

  • Petya Koleva (Coventry University), An Empirical Model for Islamic CSR Grounded in Theory and Practice
  • Gaston De Los Reyes (George Washington University), The Political Imperative to Do the Good There is No Business Reason
  • Marian Eabrasu (South Champagne Business School) & Arthur Gautier (ESSEC Business School), From Donor Motivation to Recipients Welfare: A New Agenda for Corporate Philanthropy Research

2018 Winner:

• Andrew Crane (Univ of Bath), Genevieve LeBaron (Univ of Sheffield), Kam Phung (York Univ, Canada), Laya Behbahani (Simon Fraser Univ), Jean Allain (Monash Univ), Innovations in the Business Models of Modern Slavery: The Dark Side of Business Model Innovation

2018 Finalists:

• Jeewon Cho (Oregon State Univ), Jung Hyun Lee (Univ of Michigan, Dearborn), Yoonjung Baek(Kyunpook National Univ), Rajnandini Pillal (California State Univ, San Marcos), Se Hyung OH (Hyanyang Univ), Ethical Leadership and Performance Controlling for the Full-Range Model and Authentic Leadership

• Vivien E. Janenelle (Texas A&M Univ, Central Texas), Cueing Morality: Are All Moral Foundations Recognized Equally by Shareholders?

• Matt Quade (Baylor Univ), Rebecca Lee Greenbaum (Rutgers Univ, New Brunswick), Julena Bonner, Alexander Romney (Utah State Univ), Management without Morals: The Detrimental Impact of Amoral Management

• Smith Kishor Trivedi (San Francisco State Univ), Escaping Poverty: Women Entrepreneurs’ Journeys toward Empowerment and Sustained Livelihood

2017 Winner:

Author(s): Niki Den Nieuwenboer (Univ of Kansas), Gary R. Weaver (Univ of Delaware)

Title: Context, Meaning and Agency in Moral Disengagement: A Symbolic Interactionist Perspective

2017 Finalists:

• Simona Giorgi (Boston College), Richard P. Nielsen (Boston College), Mine and Yours: Ethics Discourse Framing and Sitduational Appropriateness

• Mark Schwartz (York Univ), Sophia Maria Kusyk (York Univ), Ethical Decision-Making Theory: Revisiting the Moral Intensity Construct

• Victoria Louise Roberts (Univ of Melbourne), Mara Olekains (Univ of Melbourne), Patrice Auger (Melbourne Business School), Understanding the Effect of Moral Efficacy and Moral Identity on Moral Imagination

• Kai Christian Bormann, Ute Poethke, Carina Cohrs, Jens Rowold, (TU Dortmund Univ), Doing Bad Through Being Selective in Doing Good: An Examination of Ethical Leadership Variability

• Shoeb Mohammad (York Univ), Bryan W. Husted (Univ Tecnologico de Monterrey), Contextual Determinants of Firm Adherence to Legal and Professional Rules in Developing Countries

• Judith Schrempf-Stirling (Univ of Richmond), Harry J. Van Buren (Univ of New Mexico), Bringing Human Rights Together with Management Studies: Themes, Opportunities, and Challenges