SIM Best Paper Award

Honoring the best paper submitted to the division, the paper receiving this award is recognized for its relevance to SIM, contribution to the field, methodological or theoretical rigor, and presentations.

2020 Winner:

  • Anna Eckardt and Daina Mazutis, “Banking for a Low Carbon Future: Explaining Climate Change Responses in a Low-Salience Industry”
2020 Finalists:

  • Peter Moran, Wouter Rosingh, Michele Simoni and Han Ming Chng, “Beyond Prosperity: How Market-Shaping Firms Advance Progress”
  • Tae Wan Kim and Jooho Lee, “Corporate Data Governance: Are Data Subjects Investors?”

2019 Winner:

  • Elise Perrault (College of Charleston) & Kelly Shaver (College of Charleston), Integrating normative, descriptive, and instrumental approaches to corporate social responsibility: The critical role of attributions

2019 Finalists:

  • Ningyu Qian (Huazhong University of Science and Technology) & Shadi Yang (Huazhong University of Science and Technology), Is Bribery-Corruption Relationship a Substitute or Complement for CSR?
  • Vivek Soundararajan (University of Bath) and Michael Bloomfield (University of Bath), Business-to-Business Conflicts and Environmental Governance in Supply Chains
  • Josiah Drewry (George Washington University) & Cory Maks-Solomon (George Washington University), Why do Corporations Engage in Activism on LGBT Issues?

2018 Winner:

• Andrew Crane (Univ of Bath), Genevieve LeBaron (Univ of Sheffield), Kam Phung (York Univ, Canada), Laya Behbahani (Simon Fraser Univ), Jean Allain (Monash Univ)

Title: Innovations in the Business Models of Modern Slavery: The Dark Side of Business Model Innovation

2018 Finalists:

Author(s): Emanuele Luca Maria Bettinazzi (EMLYON Business School), Anne Jacqueminet (Bocconi Univ), Kerstin Neumann (Univ of Innsbruck), Peter Maria Snoeren (Tilburg Univ)

Author(s): Vivien E. Janenelle (Texas A&M Univ, Central Texas)

Title:Cueing Morality: Are All Moral Foundations Recognized Equally by Shareholders?

Author(s): Jean-Pascal Gond (City Univ London), Laurence Vigneau (Newcastle Univ), Michael E. Johnson-Cramer (Bucknell Univ)

Title:How Do Measures Become Academically Acceptable? A Case Study of the KLD Database

2017 Winner:

Author(s): Nolywé Delannon (Laval Univ), Emmanuel Raufflet (HEC Montreal)

Title: Creolization as Resistance to PCSR: The Contested Field of the Past at the Guiana Space Center

2016 Winner:

Author(s): Brent D Beal (Univ of Texas at Tyler), Roger Conaway (EGADE Business School), Marina Astakhova (Univ of Texas at Tyler) & Oliver Laasch (Univ of of Manchester)

Title: Income Inequality: Value Flow Analysis, Market Narratives, and Organizational Practice